Photo crop

WESTACOTT FARM CAMPING

Open 365 days a year

Reviews

Please feel free to add a comment.....it give us ideas on how to improve our site and lets you share your experience of Westacott Farm with others.
Thank you.

Comments

  1. This will be the 3rd year in a row at Westacott Farm. We love the place and always have a fab time. The staff cannot do enough to make your time perfect and ensure you have what you need. Great place to make memories with the children

    (Posted on 2016-07-07 10:16:00 by Tabitha Sandy)
  2. Brilliant site nice location very welcoming owners who as busy as they are found time to have a talk nice to be on a farm and have view across sea sit and relax watching the sun go down.Nice touch with black board with your pitch place and name on arrival also fire basket you can hire for night and large grass area for childrten to play where you can keep a eye on them ,well done highly recomend this site

    (Posted on 2016-06-29 20:50:00 by Mark Bye)
  3. I stayed in a tent in Lundy View for 5 nights in June 6-11 2016 with my sister in a tent on the pitch next to me. We had a great time. A lovely friendly and helpful welcome. Clean and more than adequate facilities. The eggs were delicious. Views of the coast over the hedge. A lovely 20 minute walk to the beach. A great way to spend my holiday despite the rain that started as we lit the BBQ on our last evening! I recommend this site for anyone wanting to explore the devon countryside. I hope you enjoy your stay as much as I did. Worth the long drive fro Germany.

    (Posted on 2016-06-19 09:47:00 by Wendy Scardifield)
  4. we only stayed a couple of nights as it was our first time in a caravan and what a fantastic site very welcomming host,lots of room for the kids to plays and Fantastic views, and all at a very good pric. we will be returning in the near future thank you

    (Posted on 2015-09-06 13:58:00 by maurice Raymopnt)
  5. Two week stay in August 15, what a lovely site! Greeted by our name on the board on arrival, beautiful sheltered site(Bay Field) great clean facilities, lovely friendly helpful owners. perfect position to feel away from the world with perfect sunsets each evening, enjoyed the fire pits and close enough to explore Westward Ho, Northam Burrows, Appledore,Instow,Bideford, Greencliff,and Abbotsham to name but a few. Thank you for a great summer holiday, we will be coming back to this site.

    (Posted on 2015-08-17 08:53:00 by Levell-Collins)
  6. Had a lovely 3 night stay here in our tent pitched on Middle Meadow. Lovely peaceful location within just a short drive of many local attractions such as Bideford, Appledore and the Tarka Trail. The Thatched Inn is a 25min walk away and is a great traditional pub with nice garden. The campsite itself is good value and the owners very friendly and welcoming. We'll be back again.

    (Posted on 2015-08-12 15:05:00 by Lorraine and Mick)
  7. A little piece of paradise! Absolutely love this campsite. Far enough along the Devon lanes away from the main road, that you feel like you could be in the middle of no-where but within 5 minutes you can be back on the main road. Peaceful, tranquil and beautiful. The campsite itself is immaculate, lovely personalised board on arrival directing you to your pitch, greeted by your own name board. The grass is regularly mowed and maintained. Toilets and washing up area are regularly cleaned and taken extra care of. Lots of hot water. The Trewin family could not be more welcoming or hospitable, going that extra mile to help in any way or just to stop and chat. Lovely location to explore locally or afar. Super walk down to the beach at Greencliff which has proven popular with my family especially for shrimping. On a nice day we have enjoyed a lovely walk on the cliff path to Westward Ho! Super exploring at Northam Burrows and the sand dunes. Discovered Instow beach this year which was lovely too. Enjoyed a visit to Hartland Abbey and into Barnstaple for a mooch around the shops. Burgers/Sausages/Eggs/ Marshmallows etc for sale at the farmhouse or a mile walk along the lane to the Little post office in Abbotsham village which has basic essentials or Asda is at Atlantic Village. Lovely meal at the Thatch Inn in the village too. Lots of lovely things to do and explore or just some stunning scenery to soak up and most amazing sunsets I've ever seen.

    (Posted on 2015-08-08 13:13:00 by Sarah Onions)
  8. We spent 3 nights at Westacott Farm, the site and facilities were very clean and tidy. Due to the site being small it made for a quiet and relaxing time, we chose Westacott Farm to allow us to try out our caravan (first time caravanners), it allowed us time to set up, try out and get use to the van. We only live approximately 5 miles from the site,so going back for the essential bits we forgot to pack was ideal. We will return to the site again in the future, for all the above reasons,and also to introduce the Grand-children to camping.

    (Posted on 2015-04-18 18:22:00 by Rick and Jen)
  9. A lovely campsite at such good value. We booked at short notice but got a lovely pitch on Lundy View. Bridget was so nice and let us park there the following day so we could walk the coastpath even though we were not booked in past 11 o clock.

    (Posted on 2014-07-27 20:55:00 by Mike Taylor)
  10. Spent six nights on my own with a small two berth caravan (Eriba Puck) In Lundy View Field.
    not a problem as everyone is so frindley. including the goats and chickens that wander around the field.
    Perfect for me, having free showers, no extra for awning and camp fires allowed. Well sized pitch with a great view.
    The site is well placed for North Devon.
    I explored The Tarka Trail on a push bike for one day, also a day along the coast walking from the camp site.
    I went to Arlington Court (House and Carriage Museum - National Trust).
    I also went to impressive Baggy Point which is next to the wonderful beach of Croyde Bay (free National Trust members parking sited between the two places). Stopped for fish and chips at the award winning Squires in Braunton on the way back - very good.
    Many places I would have liked to visit, so will definitely be returning. Will not take much food with me next time because of what is sold on site and an Asda nearby.
    The Thatchers is a great old pub selling four different real ales. It has a good food guide restaurant and superb modern beer garden attached.

    (Posted on 2014-07-21 14:17:00 by Rchard Binnion)
  11. Just got home from this lovely site i could find no faults with it its peaceful great views tvery clean well run site clean well kept toilet n shower area and kitchen we went with our 3 dogs Neil n Bridget very hel pful and friendly we would go back again but not with our old dog it was too much for him the heat and could do our usual long hikes great idea if Neil n Bridget had a dog daycare kennel if owners wanted to have a day or few hrs out we know a few sites now who do this definetly go back again Maureen n Tony

    (Posted on 2014-06-17 13:00:00 by Maureen n Tony McDUELL)
  12. The kinzel family stayed here for the last week of May 2014 It was a fantastic week the owners cannot be more helpful the views from the site are fantastic watching the sunset over Lundy was so beautiful it took your breath away. The kids enjoyed the play trampolines and swings which were in the middle of our field which was good so we could let them play with having to be there constantly with them. Having to set up your caravan / tent before you even book in with reception was great if the weather was on the bad side it let you get on and get sorted and settled in . The site is very clean and tidy the toilet block was very clean and tidy the showers were lovely and hot. We are going back next year for certain Very happy and contented after a lovely holiday

    (Posted on 2014-05-31 16:25:00 by Mrs Lorraine Kinzel)
  13. The de Luca Family
    August 2013
    We stayed at Westacott Farm the last week of August with our 7 year daughter. This was our first camping trip!
    We were impressed with how well the site was set up and organised with our names on the welcome board, allocated pitch and being given a welcome pack of places to visit and activities to try on arrival. The owners were very accommodating and nothing was too much effort, they even lent us an electrical lead and refunded us the cost of a camp fire one day when the weather was too wet and windy to light it.
    We stayed in Lundy View field with beautiful views. The washrooms and dishwashing area were always clean, and everyone enjoyed listening to the radio as they washed up their dishes. There was one small freezer, which was full everyday with ice packs, another freezer would be useful.
    Although the 20 minute walk to the beach was lovely, we found the mountain of huge pebbles very difficult to walk on to get to the rock pools. We visited Westward Ho!, Saunton Sands, Gnome Reserve and Clovelly, all of which we would recommend.
    Our daughter made lots of friends and enjoyed playing on the trampoline, so much so, it was a job to get her to leave the camp site for trips!

    As well as being able to buy some breakfast essentials from the camp site we found a farm shop about 10 minutes away at Merry Harriers Garden Centre in Woolsery that sold fabulous steaks at a reasonable price.
    We will indeed camp again, and at this site!

    (Posted on 2013-09-29 12:07:00 by The de Luca Family)
  14. First of all would like to say thank you very much to NEIL BRIDGET,CLAIRE AND CHRIS for what was an absolute great stay at their campsite all the facilities were spotless. beautiful views in peaceful surroundings. and also being able to have a campfire made our stay perfect . Would also like to say that the family were extremely helpful in anyway possible ( hacksaw for awning ha ha ) highly reccomend the sausage ,bacon and eggs from the farm shop. would highly recommend to anyone who is thinking of staying here .

    (Posted on 2013-09-21 19:42:00 by jason and julie)
  15. Westacott Farm is a most beautiful spot on the NorthDevon coast. This is a family run camping site on a working farm and we found it friendly, efficient and relaxed. We were in Bay View site; it is sheltered, neat and dry under foot. The lavatory and shower are immaculate. The kitchen included washing up basins, freezer, kettle, microwave, washing machine and tumble drier. We were walking the South West Coast Path and couldn't be happier with the site. We will certainly stay again.

    (Posted on 2013-09-16 18:45:00 by Samuel Bemrose)
  16. we stayed hear this week end bank hoilday weekend and was impressed with this campsite very clean and tidy and well run loved the animals they had there and was impressed by as we came in our name was on the blackboard that was a good idea would i stay hear again most cerantley was a great campsite plus a great view as well dave

    (Posted on 2013-08-28 10:15:00 by dave shaw)
  17. Just got back from an 11 night stay at Westacott.
    The campsite: we (4 families - 7 adults + 7 teenagers) stayed in the Bay View field, which housed 4 caravans & 5 tents was very good. AOn arrival our names were on the blackboard telling us which field to pitch in - in the field, we had name plaques showing us where to pitch - none of this "3 meters there" "park to the left" "not too far out" etc - there was no checking in first and then being shown to your pitch the notice said "pitch first and then check-in at the farmhouse". Straight away we thought what a lovely relaxed but organised way to do things.
    In Bay View there are 2 toilets and 1 shower - which at times (mainly morning) were both busy - personally, I think an extra toilet & another shower would more than accommodate a full field. The kitchen has a freezer, microwave, kettle and 2 sinks & kept very clean - nice little touches! On occassion, there were a couple of goats wondering around the site and a few sheep, which was nice to see. The fire pits (of which we had 4) are an excellent idea - although, I do recommend you check the weather forecast before ordering one.
    Sunsets over Lundy Island were beautiful - the meteor showers were excellent - full orange harvest moon, perfect.
    We walked down to the beach which took approx 20 mins (more than 30 mins on the way back because it was uphill) the *pebbles* on the beach are the largest I have ever seen - more like small rocks, which I did not dare to walk far on!
    The adults thought the site fantastic, but the teenagers were a little fed up on our quiet days!!!
    We visited Bideford, Clovelly, Westward Ho!, Saunton Sands, Instow, Appledore, Barnstaple, Hartland Abbey among other places and none of these places were more than 30 minutes away.
    In summary, the campsite was excellent, central to beaches, shops, attractions etc
    Would I return - without a doubt, absolutely.
    9/10

    (Posted on 2013-08-25 13:29:00 by mrs sampson)
  18. We were really delighted with this wonderful friendly site, The facilities were kept really clean and as soon as one of the soap containers ran out it was quickly replaced.

    We made good use of hiring a fire basket so that we could sit out admiring the stars and toasting our mallows and crumpets, as the little boy in the next tent said when he saw the fire flickering away 'Wicked'.

    This site is ideally placed to cycle along the Tarka trail, we cycled into Barnstable and Torrington, carefree safe cycling, (Easy going ideal for children)

    The beach at Westward Ho is about 4 miles from the site, Our Granddaughter had a wonderful time with her body board riding the waves!We were reassured by the presence of the RNLI lifeguards looking after everyone in the water.

    We will return to this site again we had a super week. ( Maybe just the two of us next time, we will try out the local pubs!

    (Posted on 2013-08-18 22:02:00 by Nutburn (Original review taken from UK Campsites dated August 20)
  19. Fantastic site. Quiet but within easy reach of main roads. Nothing too much trouble for the owners - a friendly welcome and a lovely space to be in. Nice walk to the local pub, where the welcome was good too. Only stayed for 1 night but will return for a longer stay in the future. Nice to hear radio in the shower block, which was clean and tidy. Morning bacon delivery was welcome too! Can see this site becoming a firm favourite, would recommend to anyone.

    (Posted on 2013-08-18 23:01:00 by Tritonofnor (Original review taken from UK Campsites dated July)
  20. Yet again another visit to my favourite site. The owners were, as always, friendly and nothing is ever too much trouble, and its always a pleasure to visit with them. On my arrival, unfortunately in the Bay View field, four families had just arrived, with large tents and additional equipment, which took over most of the left hand side of the Bay View site, they were together, each with children, whom, appeared to be 'unparented' and had little regard for the coming and goings of vehicles in the area. In hindsight, they would have been better placed in the Lundy field, which is more accommodating for children. They were not noisy in any way, quite the opposite, but the children had disregard for other pitch dwellers. Due to the weather, they only stayed one night. This would not deter me from visiting the site again.

    This is a very peaceful site and is in a secluded part of our beautiful Devon countryside. Facilities on site are above that as could be expected on a CL site, and local amenities are also, all within walking distance, although the walk to Atlantic Village/Asda could be hazardous as on a busy main road. The walk to the local Inn in Abbotsham, is very accessible, although on a hill, but afterall, this is Devon. Well done again and hopefully will see you again later in the year.

    (Posted on 2013-07-05 05:33:00 by Jennifer H (original review from UK Campsites dated June 2013))
  21. Lovely site, well run, friendly good size pitches. We stayed in bay view field. Shower only one in this field so may not always be available, but nice shower, excellent kitchen area.

    We went for a walk down to the pebbled beach which was no more than 20 mins walk nice walk. Stunning views on front on camp site looking over lundy island in the distance. We watched the sun go down over lundy on the night we stayed and it was stunning. There is a viewing point to see this at the entrance of the site.

    We had a meal at The Thatched Inn which was the normal pub food of a good standard. Although we did drive to the pub as it was main road walk else.

    Atlantic shopping centre is only two min drive from Westacott, where there is a ASDA for all your needs.

    Westward Ho is only 5 mins drive and is lovely beach resort, well worth a visit.

    All in all a well run friendly site.

    (Posted on 2013-07-05 05:31:00 by bouncy 71 (original review on UK Campsites dated May 2013)
  22. We had a lovely time at Westacott Farm,. The owners were really welcoming and friendly, and the price was really reasonable considering the facilities provided. We loved that there was music playing in loo's and washing up area! Great idea! Lundy View was a great field to camp in and the campfire was perfect. We will definitely come back!!!

    (Posted on 2013-06-30 15:13:00 by Molly and Shortie)
  23. We stayed at Westacott Farm first time this June, and look forward to going back. It is a lovely peaceful place, the loos and showers were always clean. The views and sunsets were something special. Neil and Bridget were really naturally friendly.

    (Posted on 2013-06-28 19:52:00 by The Davies, Caerphilly (Welsh Flag))
  24. I found Westacott Farm here on UKCampsite.co.uk and it just drew my attention. Looked at a few other campsites in the area and my mind kept going back to this one. Now I know why.

    We went as a group of two families(4 adults, 2 x 5year olds, 2x3 year olds and a baby) for the bank holiday weekend as we wanted to go visit The Bigsheep, which is a lovely day out for young and old alike.

    We arrived from East Grinstead at 10pm on bank holiday Friday and it was no trouble for the family in welcoming us that late. The facilities are more than adequate and were always clean. Lovely big field for the children to run around and play. It is a very safe place for even the youngest children. Our kids loved being around the animals and jumping on the trampolines.

    This is a working Farm and it is very tranquil. Even though the A39 is close by you cannot hear it. There is a pebble beach about 30 minutes walk (taking into account we were walking with two three year olds)but lovely for rock pooling. The campsite do not have a lot of pitches which we as a group enjoyed. It is really worth every penny we paid.

    I fully recommend this campsite and hope to return to Westacott Farm soon.

    Thank you for a wonderful weekend on your farm.

    (Posted on 2013-06-10 06:23:00 by Nickliga (original review from UK Campsites dated May 2013))
  25. Just back from Westacott. Lovely site, good facilities and very warm welcome. Route in is single track so glad didn't meet anyone coming other way! Quite busy when we were there but never queued for toilets or showers. Washing up facilities good with freezer available for ice blocks etc.

    We were on pitch 2 which was at lowest point on Lundy field and as it had been and continued to rain, the pitch was quite wet.

    The beach which is accessible from the site (about 20/30min walk away) was only pebbles and the route down was very slippy due to rain. We all fell and our youngest got stung on nettles and thistles.

    The Thatched Inn served lovely reasonably priced meals and dogs were permitted in garden and inside (although we sat outside under shelter)

    Lovely area just shame about the weather. Nice beach at Bude (dogs allowed) so great for us, and husband and sons hired a row boat and rowed down the river for an hour!

    (Posted on 2013-04-11 17:43:00 by Gailbonney (original review from UK Campsites dated Aug 2012))
  26. A lovely little site. Owners welcomed you via a board to show you which field you were allocated and then individual pitch details. Owners very welcoming and it was lovely to be able to pre order your eggs, bacon and sausages. Shower and toilet were always spotless

    Idyllic for a stress free getaway with a pub about a mile and half walk away.

    I only wish I lived closer to allow us to use this site on a more regular basis

    (Posted on 2013-04-11 16:39:00 by Bagpuss40 (original review from UK Campsites dated Aug 2012))
  27. Personally I cannot fault the site and/or the people that run it. We literally booked and pitched within a couple of hours,

    The rates were brilliant, the field was in great clean condition as were the toilets, pitch sizes were generous,

    A trampoline and tennis net had been set up for use and fresh bacon, eggs and sausages were available upon request.

    The site itself is far enough from a beach town that it remains quiet and not overcrowded yet close enough that is an easy drive.

    My two young sons were particularly impressed with the baby goats and chickens and piglets

    Myself and my family will definitely be returning.

    (Posted on 2013-04-11 16:29:00 by Stef Pugh (original review from UK Campsites dated July 2012))
  28. Dont' get me wrong - this is a great, well-kept site with friendly owners and good facilities, but, if you want a sea-view from your caravan window you don't get one.

    There is a single-track road and a wall at the edge of the field between you and sea views and anyway, caravans are at the back of the field.

    However, when asked, the owner was fine with us moving over to the tent spaces along the wall where we got a better view - but I'm guessing this wouldn't have been possible in a busy period.

    As I said, this is an excellent site but the 'sea-views' were not what we expected.

    (Posted on 2013-04-11 17:25:00 by Annemarr (original review from UK Campsites dated Sept 2011))
  29. We booked this site just a couple of weeks before going due to a last moment change of plans.

    It is a very friendly campsite; the owners gave us a great welcome.

    The pitches, which are grass and fairly level, are located around the outside of a single field, leaving space for kids to play.

    The facilities of one shower & two W/Cs were clean and had all the normal things you expect.

    The fees were resonable, and competitive for the area, time of year and facilities.

    The site is a couple of mins drive to the main road, which makes getting about easy in a car.

    You can walk to the coast, the 'beach' had no sand and lots of very large stones, so if you want a sandy beach you need to use a car.

    We went to Croydd most days, which is not the closest beach but we love it there.

    If you, like us enjoy, good basic facilities, a friendly laid back atmosphere and no noisy night life then we totally recommend this great site.

    (Posted on 2013-04-11 15:54:00 by Derbytrucker (original review from UK Campsites dated Aug 2011))
  30. What a wonderful site this is! Neil and Bridget are very friendly owners and this makes such a difference. We are not used to arriving at a site with our name on a board welcoming us, but it set the tone for the rest of our stay.

    They told us that they originally started as a 5 CCC site but had established a following over the years and had opened up another field, we can certainly see why!

    The views overlooking the sea are amazing and it is only 15 - 20 minutes walk to 'The Thatched Inn' pub which serves lovely food and accepts dogs, always a bonus!

    There are plenty of coastal walks nearby too which Jess, our border collier, really enjoyed. On the site itself there was only one toilet and one shower, however they were in the process of installing a new shower block in the overflow field as we were leaving.

    There is a 'pets corner' which has some pigs and chickens which you can feed and some barn owls which they are caring for. They also sell their own meat and free range eggs.

    This campsite is certainly fantastic value for money and we hope to return in the future.

    (Posted on 2013-04-11 15:52:00 by sharrocks26 (original review from UK Campsites dated Aug 2011)
  31. Just returned from a 3 night stay at Westacott Farm with friends. Had a fantastic time, the kids enjoyed running around on the spacious grass areas and going to see the Owls, Chickens, Pigs & Ducks, a great extra. The toilet/shower facilities were kept very clean.

    Neil and Bridget were incredibly welcoming, and did all they could to make sure our stay was perfect.

    It was great to be able to buy Bacon, Eggs, Sausages and Burgers from the farm, all local produce and very very tasty! The campsite is well located for touring Devon and its beaches.

    There was a supermarket 10 minutes drive away, however we had our shopping delivered to the campsite by the supermarket.

    We will definitely be returning for a longer stay and would highly recommend the campsite to anyone looking for a relaxed and friendly atmosphere.

    (Posted on 2013-04-11 15:49:00 by Watty74 (original review from UK Campsites dated Aug 2011))
  32. A perfect and friendly small site. The Owners go out of there way to make you welcome and ensure you have a great stay. Which we did.

    We came with two grown upish girls who enjoyed the surroundings and the peace and our friends came with a two year old boy who enjoyed the space and freedom to run around and have fun.

    Westward Ho! a short drive away were the surf is great and at the far side dogs are welcome.

    Asda just up the road for all your needs and a shopping outlet if it rains.

    Booking for next year.

    (Posted on 2013-04-11 15:47:00 by Grayduff64 (orignal review from UK Campsites dated Aug 2011))
  33. We recently stayed here for a few nights and loved it! the views overlooking the sea and Lundy are some what of a picture.

    In the field that we stayed in was a corner with rare breed chickens, ducks and baby lambs. The younger farmer who looks after these is more than happy to let you feed and pet the lambs along with holding the chickens.

    Neil the site owner could not have been more helpful if he had tried he would be seen going around the site in the morning to check that every body was ok etc and even delivered our produce that we had ordered to us! thank you Neil

    The toilets and shower are in the bottom field approx 20 metres away, these are recently built and contain everything you need. The toilets we found could have been cleaner but then we did use them late at night after everybody else.

    We look forward to coming back to this site soon!

    (Posted on 2013-04-11 16:44:00 by Hale0768 (original review from UK Campsites dated July 2011))
  34. Just spent 2 nights at this charming site. The facilities are limited - 1 loo and 1 shower room with a loo - but spotless and quite luxurious. The site overlooks the sea and the local pub and coastal footpath are both a 15 minute walk away.

    The owners work hard to ensure visitors have a fault free and enjoyable stay and Neils' sense of humour was brilliant - thanks for the sign - much appreciated.

    If you want 'all singing, all dancing' forget this one - if you want idyllic surroundings, peace and quiet and superb service, put this at the top of your list.

    (Posted on 2013-04-11 15:42:00 by Somersetarchers (original review from UK Campsites dated July 20)
  35. We had a most enjoyable two night stay at Westacott last week. A pitch with hookup was earmarked for us on arrival, and we were able to setup in the overflow field with no problems. This field was a fantastic space - chickens over in one corner, fabulous views inland and the sea just over the hedge behind us!

    Neil greeted us a few hours after we arrived and he really is a lovely chap - obviously very passionate about the farm and the surroundings with a dry sense of humour too! He made us feel very welcome and nothing was too much trouble.

    On the first evening we wandered down the coastal path to an amazing pebble beach where a couple of fishermen were still hoping for a catch from the shore. The coastal views were breathtaking and well worth checking out.

    Back at the campsite, Neil was caring for two barn owl chicks - and it was a real treat to see them being fed. Even more amazing was the sight of the adult barn owl swooping a couple of feet above the ground just in front of us on both evenings.

    We had a fantastic walk on the next day along the coast to Westward Ho!, and although the weather turned slightly, it was well worth it, and a drink in the local pub (The Thatched Inn) on the way back made up for our sore feet!

    The facilities on site were great - toilets and shower were always clean although a couple of the campers in the lower field had a slight moan about having to wait but it never affected us. We also met some lovely fellow campers here - very friendly and a real laugh - especially Claire and Tom originally from Ireland who made the stay even more enjoyable.

    All in all a fantastic 'old school' traditional campsite, brilliant value and a credit to Neil and his family - I will definitely go back.

    (Posted on 2013-04-11 16:39:00 by Dubrich (original review from UK Campsites dated June 2011)
  36. All I can say is perfect, beautiful, and very friendly. We stayed at the site for a week. The owners were very accommodating and friendly. We just loved it there and will definitely be going back one day. The facilities were good. You do need a car to get to the shops nothing in walking distance. But that was not a problem. A perfect way to chill out. The sunsets were very picturesque. They had barn owls nesting in the barn and an added touch of the owners putting a web cam so we could see the chicks being fed by the mother. The night sky was beautiful to watch too. A splendid place to take your tourer.

    (Posted on 2013-04-11 15:36:00 by sianrosser (original review from UK Campsites dated June 2011))
  37. This was the first campsite I have used for many years and what a gem of a campsite! I chose Westacott Farm based on reviews on this and other sites and I am SO pleased that I did.

    The drive in over the bridge from East-The-Water to Bideford is so lovely and as you wind down the little lanes to the farm you can smell the sea air and being a town dweller you can really appreciate the peace and quiet of this location.

    On arrival I was greeted by Neil who is such a genuinely lovely chap and he had marked me out my little spot (with a very wonderful interpretation of my surname! Sorry Neil, but I didn't have the heart to say anything when I was with you!) nicely sheltered from the wind. He ran through the sites facilities which were exactly how they should of been in my opinion. The toilet and shower was always clean and well stocked with (nice and soft!) toilet roll and the shower had plenty of heat in it.

    There is also a wood burner you can use for the night which I am sure would of been lovely to sit around whilst waiting for his resident owls to come out to feed of an evening. I did try to spot them but my bird spotting abilities are not to good so I resorted to watching them on his live feed TV screens by the shower block!

    If you wander up the drive and park yourself on the little stone wall you can sit and watch the sun go down and take in the stunning North Devon coastline or I was told by my neighbours that the pub in the village of Abbotsham was well worth the short walk there and that the food was excellent.

    I didn't have an electric hook-up myself but the lovely Irish couple next to me did and smelling there porridge in the morning was a treat and they really liked having that facility. Drinking water was to found easily on the site and nothing was too much trouble for Neil, even if it was just standing around having a chat as the sun went down over this lovely little, family friendly camp site.

    From Westacott Farm you have North Devon on your doorstep, Westward Ho!, Bideford, Croyde and then just a few (27 I think) miles down the road is the heavenly Bude which is well and truly worth the drive. It really is a great location to stay in.

    Perfect quiet location, incredibly friendly and helpful owner is Neil, I will be going back to Westacott Farm without a shadow of a doubt as soon as I can. Well worth visiting.

    (Posted on 2013-04-11 15:33:00 by ASW1978 (original review from UK Campsites dated June 2011))
  38. This place is an absolute gem fantastic location lovely and clean,peaceful the owners are the friendliest we have ever met. In an ideal world more toilets may be would help.The views are fantastic and the local area is full of things to see and do.

    We most certainly will be returning very soon we really didn't want to leave only had the week and could have stayed for a month. Very laid back with no rigid rules and regulations.

    Brilliant and at a fantastic price too!

    This is why we camp

    (Posted on 2013-04-11 15:31:00 by Martindoggy (original review from UK Campsites dated May 2011))
  39. Just had a brilliant week at Westacott farm and you couldn't have asked for a more perfect site. The couple who run the site are 2 of the friendliest people you could wish to meet and do their utmost to ensure your stay is everything you want it to be. The facilities are perfect, we have been to lots of sites and you would go a long way to find toilet and shower as good as these, then just step out your van and the water and disposal are just steps away, what more could you ask for.

    If you want to get away for that peaceful break and just relax, this is the place, I recharged my batteries before going back to school and facing 30 9yr olds! Theres a big asda just down the road for all your needs and the farm sell lovely eggs. We enjoyed it that much we are returning at the end of May for another break. But don't just take our word go along and see for yourself, you won't be disappointed.

    (Posted on 2013-04-11 15:27:00 by Wally53 (original review on UK Campsites dated April 2011))
  40. We arrived at the site quite early and Neil came to greet us, nice guy, very helpful and good sense of humour.

    A very nice, well kept little site. Very dog friendly. Well stocked toilet and toilet/shower. Hard standing pitches all with hook ups and extras besides.

    Asda about a mile up the road. Nice walk to the beach (which has large pebbles and rock pools, 'ideal for finding the youth in everyone'). This site is quite central for visiting a lot of places in the area.

    This site is very good value for money. When we get the chance, we will stay at this site again.

    (Posted on 2013-04-11 14:22:00 by Broadway (original review on UK Campsites dated April 2011))
  41. If you are looking for a small, tranquil, friendly, 'farmer's field' type of camp site - this is the one. It's a great location if, like us, you are touring with a campervan and walking the coastal path. The coastal path is (a very pleasant) 10-15 mins walk away. The nearest bus -(if you only want to walk the coastal path in one direction) goes from Abbotsham, a mile away.

    We liked everything about the site.

    The owners are very helpful and welcoming;

    The site is level and in lovely countryside, near the sea.

    Only one loo, and one shower with a loo - but extremely nice and always clean. Given the site is small, it's possibly a better ratio than you get on bigger sites with bigger loo blocks. (No separate washing up facilities - but we didn't find it a problem)

    We would thoroughly recommend this site and would definitely use it again next time we are touring in that area.

    (Posted on 2013-04-11 14:16:00 by RachelABW (original review on UK Campsites dated July 2010)
  42. Good value site and friendly welcome from the owner. Good toilet facilities and easy access to fill up with water.

    Walk to the coastal path easy and about 3 miles to Westward Ho!

    Hardstanding pitch marked up for us on arrival.

    In all an ideal site except we wont be going again, my wife went to pay at the end of our stay and came back crying. The dog at the house ran up to her and bit her on the leg. This has never happened before to us anywhere. The owner was apologetic. I mention this to warn others to pay when you get there

    (Posted on 2013-04-11 15:09:00 by Hawcara (original review on UK Campsites dated March 2011))
  43. Spent just 2 nights here when visiting family in the area. Lovely site, well kept grass with hook ups. Pick the right pitch and you will get a sea view. The toilet and toilet with shower were new and immaculate, plenty of good quality loo paper, soap and hand towels.

    When you arrive (down very narrow Devon lanes) you just pitch up and the friendly owners come and collect the fee later. If you have pre-booked there will be a marker on your pitch with your name on. Only 5 minutes off A39 giving easy access to lots of lovely places in Devon and Cornwall.

    All the major supermarkets are in the area and the Atlantic Shopping Village (outlet centre) is just a couple of miles up the road. Definitely recommended - will be returning

    (Posted on 2013-04-11 14:06:00 by Lemone (original review on UK Campsites dated Sept 2010))
  44. Lovely peaceful site, just as you would imagine a farm site to be. If you like somewhere small to get away from it all then it's ideal. The owners are very friendly and take great care of the site. The shower and toilets are spotless.

    It could do with facilities for washing dishes for those people who are staying in tents, but as its a caravan club site then I suppose most have that in their caravans. Other than that, it is perfect. There is a very nice country pub in the nearest village that serves good food and are very welcoming - to dogs too.

    It also has a post office which sells newspapers. There is a supermarket nearby to stock up on everything else you need. Would recommend this site to anyone and would not hesitate to return in the near future.

    (Posted on 2013-04-11 13:52:00 by Jaciones (original review on UK Campsites dated July 2010))
  45. We spent 2 weeks here. The weather could have been much better but we really enjoyed the campsite with it's great shower and toilet facilities that were always clean.

    The site is very peaceful with great views and stunning sunsets. Neil the owner was very friendly and helpful and joined us for a beer several evenings during our stay.

    We loved the area with about a 20 minute walk to the coast path. Asda was only a few minutes drive away.There is so much to do and places to visit in North Devon. We loved it that much that we spent another 5 nights here in september and we will definitely be returning next year.

    (Posted on 2013-04-11 11:42:00 by Alipaul (original review on UK Campsites dated July 2010))
  46. What a delightful site, the owners were friendly, the views were stunning, the facilities were new and shiny bright. It was ideal for dog owners as there were plenty of walks. The site was flat and well maintained. Close to the charming town of Bideford and not far from Lyford Gorge and Watersmeet, it is a perfect base for touring the north coast. We will definitely be returning.

    (Posted on 2013-04-11 11:34:00 by PamelaMJ (original review on UK Campsites dated June 2010))
  47. We have just had two very relaxing enjoyable weeks at Westacott Farm, Neil and all his family made us feel very welcome and were friendly and helpful.

    The toilet and shower room are excellent and always very clean. The site is kept tidy and well maintained.

    We did walk down the lanes observing nature and life on the farm, but did not manage it to the cliffs and village (we are retired and have a slow dog) however other campers managed it fine.

    We went out a few times visiting Westward Ho, Bideford, Hartland Point and Clovelly village all very nice. Shopping was a short drive away, easy parking for the motor home and all staff at Asda very helpful.

    Would definitely recommend this site, and will certainly be visiting again.

    (Posted on 2013-04-11 10:52:00 by DFWDEANE(original review on UK Campsites dated June 2010))
  48. Just spend a great 5 days here, completely endorse all the previous good comments. Ideal location with lots to see close by, including Clovelly, RHS Rosemoor, Atlantic Village and Tarka Trail. We walked down to the stoney beach, it took around 20 minutes. There is a supermarket about 1 mile away.

    Westacott is a credit to it's owners and we hope to revist some time soon.

    The facilities are excellent for this type of site and the shower / wetroom was a real luxury. Lots of wildlife as the farm has cattle and sheep, a resident family of barn owls and loads of bats and swallows.

    As with all CL type sites, there isn't anything specific for kids but there is some room in the middle of the field for a game of something. There are lots of child centred attractions very nearby.

    A last mention should be for Neil who in our opinion really makes the site what it is.

    (Posted on 2013-04-11 10:44:00 by Simon Todd (original review on UK Campsites dated June 2010))
  49. Enjoyed six relaxing nights at Westacott Farm. Neil was very welcoming and nothing was too much trouble (regularly freezing our ice blocks).

    The shower block and toilet are new - very clean with free shower. The site's location is ideal for exploring north Devon and about a fifteen minute walk to the coast.

    We can recommend using the site and are hoping to go again.

    (Posted on 2013-04-11 10:41:00 by KimmyJane (original review on UK Campsites dated June 2010)
  50. We stayed here for 4 nights over the Easter break and loved the peace and tranquillity of this simple site. Neil the owner made us feel extremely welcome and nothing was too much trouble for him.

    The views from here over to Lundy are superb, and there is plenty of space around you. The new shower / toilet facilities are lovely and always spotlessly clean.

    The local roads are not for the faint hearted with few passing places, but its well worth the effort. Hope to return to this lovely site again.

    (Posted on 2013-04-11 10:35:00 by Gollygosh (original review on UK Campsites dated April 2010))
  51. I spent 2 weeks here at the end of January and beginning of February in my campervan and loved it. A very warm and friendly welcome by the owner Neil and his son, lovely chats over coffee and a sincere and earnest approach to looking after his campsite. Thumbs up for the welcome which, after having camped around for a further 2 weeks in Devon, is really welcome and a delight.

    As for the site the location is great for coastal walks: One day I walked to Westward Ho!, another day towards Bucks Mills, another day just spent walking along the pebble beach - a 15 minute walk from the site. It's also a great base, as they say, for visiting other areas - Clovelly, Hartland Point, Bideford, are the ones I visited.

    As for facilities, the toilet is great - nice and modern. Currently there are no showers but they're planned for beginning of April, I think. Obviously, there are taps for water and bins for your rubbish.

    My plot for my van was by a barn full of cows which I really enjoyed - very rustic. And the views on most days over towards Lundy were fabulous. It's not a big site, but its homely, safe, and friendly.

    Thoroughly recommended for a proper bit of camping in the country.

    (Posted on 2013-04-11 10:00:00 by Zencamper (original review on UK Campsites dated Feb 2010))
  52. A tranquil site, well hidden away but within only a few miles to local amenities such as post office and Asda.

    Very friendly and helpful site owners, thanks Neil & Bridget!

    Limited facilities on site at the moment with power hook up and a toilet block, but a shower and washing up area may be fitted shortly according to Neil.

    This will be the site to be if you want peace and quiet!

    (Posted on 2013-04-11 09:57:00 by Kingsonlim (original review on UK Campsites dated Dec 2009))
  53. This is an absolutely outstanding hideaway site. The camping field is a small grass field which is not overfilled and allows you plenty of space with amazing views. Limited facilities which does not spoil the stay, but probably enhances its rural aspects and unspoilt charm. It is part of a working farm, the owners Neil and Bridget Trewin couldn't be more friendly or helpful. If you want to get away from it all but be within easy access to the North Devon coast including the Tarka Trail and and tourist activities like The Big Sheep, Milky Way and Atlantic Village. The village of Abbotsham is in walking distance with a postoffice and pub but a large supermarket within a couple of miles.

    If you want peace and quiet and stunning Devon scenery this is the place for you.

    We have stayed two years in a row at this tranquil site and look forward to returning again.

    (Posted on 2013-04-11 10:37:00 by Sarah Onions (original review on UK Campsites dated July 2009))

You are viewing the text version of this site.

To view the full version please install the Adobe Flash Player and ensure your web browser has JavaScript enabled.

Need help? check the requirements page.


Get Flash Player